Life Update

It has been a while since I posted and a lot has changed in my life over the past 3 1/2 months. Specifically, I decided to make a career change. Teaching is a wonderful profession, but I just was not cut out for it. I would rather volunteer with children, than teach them and maintain my love for them as well as my sanity.

Instead of teaching I am now working in the glorious legal field as a paralegal in a firm specifically working with worker’s compensation claims. And I love it. And I am good at it. And I am happier than I have been in a long time. 

As a teacher I regularly used my bullet journal at work. I took notes about my students, listed ideas for lessons and activities, reflected about my career, and took notes form professional development classes and meetings. I used my personal journal for all of this and I truly believe in a one notebook system and keeping EVERYTHING together because my work was my life. There was never a moment I wasn’t working.

Now that I have switched careers, while I love my job and I truly do enjoy it, I do not bring my work home with me, and a lot of the stuff I work on is not stuff that I can show anybody because of privacy laws. I was feeling sad leaving behind my bullet journal, when I realized that the success I had encountered in using the bullet journal in my personal life could help me achieve my career goals also. So, I started a minimalist bullet journal that I keep at work and it has been doing wonders for my job. It helps me to be highly efficient and keep track of tasks, even ones that are long-term tasks. I may do a post soon about my work journal (blurring out any personal information of course) and how I utilize it to be the best I can be at my job.

Now that work is not my life I have time for other interests and I have been trying to find a way to make those things a priority in my life. I want to start using my bullet journal to keep track of personal interest projects and keep me motivated and active rather than just coming home from work and cleaning, eating and watching TV.

I think I have decided that I am going to stick strictly to my Moleskines (please do not try to tell me there are better notebooks, I know there are, but I still prefer Moleskine – blog post to come) and a cahier in an A5 travelers notebook. I want to keep year long collections such as the future log, body log, books to read, wish list, etc. in the cahier all year and then all my monthlies, weeklies, and dailies can go in a regular Moleskine. In that yearly cahier I can put my projects that I am working on. I’m thinking things like my photography projects, crochet, drawing/painting, blog post ideas, writing ideas, etc. I’m really excited about marrying my love for bullet journaling and travelers notebooks to make one uber planner/journal/happy space.

If you have ever tried something like that or use a travelers notebook for bullet journaling, please let me know. I’m really interested to hear how it works for you and maybe steal some ideas 😉

Leave a Reply

